Cold Weather Comfort

The temps here in Colorado are (mostly) reaching bone chilling levels. Not exactly my ideal weather, but not something I can control. This week’s menu had comfort and cold weather in mind.

Chicken Divan Casserole with a side salad
This was a pretty comforting recipe. I’m a big fan of chicken, rice, and broccoli casseroles and this seemed to fancy it up a bit, sans the rice. The recipe calls for fresh broccoli, but I used frozen instead. I bought a bag from Costco several weeks ago, so naturally it’ll be enough to last an entire year. I also used the shredded cheese I had on hand. It was a mix and I think everything turned out pretty well. Unfortunately, I had to nix the side salad. The husband was in Kentucky and I had a very hungry toddler. Parenting solo at dinner time is not an easy task. To save time and avoid another epic toddler meltdown, I only served the casserole. Besides, the tiny human doesn’t care much for salad.

Beef Barley Soup with fresh bread
I made this soup on a particularly cold day. It had snowed a bit and what better way to warm up than a bowl of homemade soup. I followed the recipe exactly. However, if you like your soup a little on the salty side, I’d suggest adding it after making yourself a bowl.

Cheesy Italian Rice with Sausage
This is a huge hit with my husband and son. It’s definitely a favorite in this house. I follow the recipe as is every time. Well, except I add a little more lemon juice. I love lemon flavor. This is also really good as leftovers….if there are any leftovers.

Sweet Potato, Kale, and Shrimp Skillet with rice
I’ll start out by saying this was a tasty recipe. However, the sweet potatoes took FOREVER to cook. I kept having to add water, which was actually a little helpful considering I over estimated the “to taste” suggestion for the red pepper flakes. Apparently when you add a liiiiiiittle too much everyone in the house starts choking and gagging. Whooops. The final result was not overly spicy though. I was slightly hesitant to use kale. The last time I had kale in my house it was infested with tiny bugs. They took over my kitchen! Luckliy I found bagged, chopped kale and avoided another bug-infested mess.

Creamy Spinach Lemon Chicken with sauteed zucchini and cauliflower rice
Ok, so, this recipe was good, and I followed it exactly, but the sauce never ended up creamy. I’m not exactly sure what I did wrong. If you end up making this and get the creamy sauce, let me know what you did. I’ll probably make this again just to get the sauce correct.
The zucchini was sauteed with Lowry’s Season Salt and olive oil. And the cauliflower rice was made with (obviously) cauliflower, olive oil, and dill.

Daniel Fast Cabbage Rolls/Stuffed Cabbage Rolls
One of my husband’s favorite meals is cabbage rolls. For this week’s cabbage roll recipe I used two different recipes. I used everything except the sage and canned tomatoes (and used fresh spinach instead of frozen) listed in Daniel’s recipe. From the second recipe I added ground beef and used canned tomato soup. In the past I’ve always boiled the entire head of cabbage thinking it’s easier to peel off the leaves. This time I tried to peel the leaves without boiling the whole head and then boiled just the leaves. Neither way is easier, but I suppose boiling the entire head first gives you less ripped leaves.

Balsamic, Honey, and Mustard Pork Chops with parmesan brussels sprouts and mashed potatoes
The hubby took over the kitchen for this one. He made the sauce for the pork chops into a glaze by removing the pork and letting the liquid simmer a bit. The sprouts had a great flavor and were tasty dipped in the glaze. Aaaaand mashed potatoes are, well, mashed potatoes.

 

With Thanksgiving being tomorrow, I have a special menu set aside for this meal. Once we’ve toasted, chowed down, and come out a turkey coma I’ll post all of the recipes I used. They all look quite scrumptious.

Happy Thanksgiving and happy cooking!

Leave a Reply

