Thanksgiving Meal

I hope you all had a wonderful Thanksgiving filled with lots of family, friends, food, and love.
This year I decided to try all new recipes for the important dishes that make up a Thanksgiving meal. And I must say, they were fantastic! I may make some of these throughout the year as sides for dinner.

Delicious and Easy Dry-Brined Roast Turkey
This recipe truly made the turkey moist and delicious. I also added rosemary, thyme, and basil to the salt for the brine. And, thanks to a Facebook friend, I saved a ton of space in my oven by using a Oster Turkey Roaster. It was great! After the turkey got a butter rub down (and butter under the skin) I placed the roaster on my counter, popped the bird in, set the temperature, and didn’t have to worry about maneuvering all the side dishes around the turkey.

Slow Cooker Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes
The second most important component of a Thanksgiving meal – mashed potatoes. By using the slow cooker, I freed up a large pot and space on the stove. I used little gold potatoes instead of the red potatoes in the recipe. I also quartered them. These potatoes had a wonderful flavor and so simple to make. Definitely a winner!

The Very Best Green Bean Casserole
This recipe lives up to its name. Using fresh ingredients and making it from scratch made all the difference. I highly recommend giving this one a try!

Sweet Potato Casserole
Holy yum! This sweet potato casserole was the best I’ve ever had. The recipe says to boil the sweet potatoes, but we baked them instead. I’m not sure if that would make a difference in flavor, though. Added bonus to baking them – warmed up the house. Absolutely delicious side!

Corn Casserole
This was a great alternative to serving regular corn. It has a nice salty/sweet flavor and remind me a lot of spoon bread. This is one of those recipes I’d make any day of the week.

Easy Homemade Cranberry Sauce
Again, fresh ingredients make all the difference. To save time, this was made the night before. I think letting it chill over night was key to how flavorful this dish ended up. The bitter flavor of the cranberries paired with the sweetness of oranges was a great combination. Adding this one to my Christmas dinner menu for sure.

This Thanksgiving meal was a masterpiece. All of these amazing recipes brought together on one table made it quite memorable. If any of these dishes are a staple in your Christmas menu, I recommend trying a few of these recipes.

Now, onto the Christmas and then the New Year. Happy cooking!

Leave a Reply

