I Am Not A Pasta Fan

Good morning! It’s 6:15 am, the house is quiet, I’m enjoying my coffee, and bringing you a list of recipes. All of this week’s recipes, with the exception of one, were a big hit with the family.

Best Slow-Cooker Garlic-Parmesan Chicken with potatoes and carrots
Though this is a fairly simple recipe, if you’re the type who likes to throw everything in the slow cooker and head off to work you may want to save this one for a non-work day. There’s a bit of prep prior to putting everything into the slow cooker. Now, with that said, this was a good recipe. And I would recommend using fresh shaved Parmesan. Makes a big difference.

Best Honey-Sriracha Chicken with Broccoli and rice
I was expecting this recipe to have a bit of a kick, but, for me, it was a decent amount of heat. The broccoli soaked up more flavor than the chicken did. If you’re not a huge fan of some spice then just adjust the amount of sriracha. Good recipe, not great, but I’d probably make it again.

Cajun Shrimp Scampi Rice
Loved this recipe! But, like the above mentioned recipe, if you’re not a big fan of spicy either scale back the ingredients or skip this one for this one has quite a bit of heat. There was so much flavor with this recipe. It was a lot like jambalaya without the sausage.

Carne Asada Crunchwrap
Skip Taco Bell and go straight for this recipe. Lots of prep work, but totally worth it. This has become a new household favorite and a great twist on Taco Tuesday.

Slow Roasted Honey Glazed Pork with Asparagus and Potatoes
This was a great pork recipe. It’s not a quick one, but it is fairly easy. However, I would recommend cooking the asparagus for a shorter amount of time or separately. After watching the video on the website for the recipe, I noticed the asparagus was extra crispy. I’m not a fan of burnt asparagus so I decided to make it separately from the rest of the meal. Cooking the potatoes with the pork for the same amount of time as the pork worked out perfectly. The meat was moist and had a great flavor.

Best Spaghetti and Meatballs
Biiiiiiiiig thumbs down for this one. It is, in fact, not the best spaghetti and meatballs. I’m not sure if it was a bad batch of tomato puree that I purchased, but the sauce was bitter and had NO flavor. I followed this recipe exactly as stated and after sampling the sauce I had to add more ingredients. Even after adding more it was horrible. The meatballs were good and I would probably use that part of the recipe again, but the rest of it was just awful. If you have a family recipe for spaghetti sauce that is without a doubt amazing, please share it with me. My husband loves spaghetti and meatballs, but I rarely make this meal. I’m not a pasta fan and generally don’t make any recipes that involve it other than orzo.

Pork Chops with Butter, Garlic, and Mushrooms with mashed potatoes and green beans
I got lucky this week and found two pork recipes that are definitely worth repeating. This one is pretty simple and packs a lot of flavor.

Well, my lovelies, that’s all I have for this week. And again, avoid the spaghetti and meatball recipe. I took one for the team, so heed my warning. Happy cooking!

Leave a Reply

