‘Twas The Week Before Christmas and Hanukkah

Merry Christmas and Happy Hanukkah! I hope everyone had or is having a wonderful holiday filled with good food, family, and friends. Our Christmas was spent watching our two year old open his gifts on his own for the first time. It was the best thing to see his little face get excited every time he unwrapped a new toy.

This week’s post will also include the recipes we used for Christmas dinner. Christmas dinner isn’t quite as extensive as Thanksgiving dinner….fortunately. 😉

Balsamic Mustard Roast Beef with broccoli and salt potatoes
Since I don’t have the fancy mustard that was used in the roast recipe, I substituted Dijon mustard. I also mixed in a bit of balsamic vinegar. This was an awesome roast recipe. My husband thinks it’s the best one yet. Very simple and delicious. The salt potatoes paired really well with it. Great flavor and a creamy texture.

Easy Oven Baked Spicy Tacos
This. This. This. THIS! These were, hands down, the best tacos I have ever made. If you’re a “taco Tuesday” person, you have to try this recipe. If you’re not into spicy, there is a non-spicy option mentioned in the recipe.

Ranch, Chicken, and Potato Casserole with broccoli
This was a good recipe. I didn’t run out to get a rotisserie chicken for it, though. I have plenty of chicken in my freezer and the recipe calls for shredded chicken. So, I simply boiled some chicken breasts and shredded them. I really wanted to have them cook in the slow cooker all day, but time did not permit for this. This would be a good recipe for a larger crowd.

Swedish Meatball Pasta Dish
As I’ve mentioned in a past blog, I’m not a fan of pasta. But my husband is so I like to throw in a decent pasta dish every once in awhile. This one was decent. I wouldn’t say it was superb, but definitely worth a try. Maybe I didn’t fully enjoy it because of my distaste for pasta. Everyone else in the family really liked it though. So there’s that…

Slow Cooker Carnitas
Another great recommendation for “taco Tuesday”! These were packed with flavor and so easy to make.

Bacon, Brussels Sprouts, and Butternut Squash Pizza
Holy moly! This pizza was AMAZING! The bacon and butternut squash gave it that salty-sweet combo and the sprouts added a bit of an earthy flavor. I cannot recommend this recipe enough! I’d also like to note, this is actually a flatbread recipe, but I didn’t see why I couldn’t just make it into a whole pizza….so I did.

Ratatouille
So I made ratatouille. I won’t tell you that it’s super simple because there is A LOT of prep that goes into making it. However, all the prep is worth it. Lots of flavor and I felt a little sense of accomplishment once it was done. It’s a beautiful dish and sure to be a crowd pleaser, assuming the crowd likes veggies.

 

Here is our Christmas dinner…..

Foolproof Prime Rib
This truly is a foolproof way to cook a perfect prime rib. Ours turned out at a perfect medium rare (as prime rib should be) and had great flavor. Use this recipe. Seriously.

Slow Cooker Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes
I used this recipe in my Thanksgiving menu. Same outcome as before – fantastic!

Sweet Potato Casserole
This recipe was also used at Thanksgiving. And it’s still the BEST EVER sweet potato casserole. I can’t wait to have the leftovers tonight!

Easy Homemade Cranberry Sauce
Aaaaand another that I used for Thanksgiving. The only difference is I actually remembered to put this on the table on Turkey Day. Yup! I forgot to grab this from the fridge before we sat down for Christmas dinner. -_-

Garlic Parmesan Green Beans
This was not used at Thanksgiving. Ha! These were quite tasty and definitely something I’d make any day of the week for a dinner side. Quick and easy to make, too!

Our other sides included au jus (made with the drippings from the roast) for the prime rib, a salad (mixed greens with some added toppings), and Sara Lee Hawaiian dinner rolls.

This is probably my last post of 2016. I hope your New Year’s celebrations are filled with love and laughter and that 2017 is an epic year for you. Happy cooking!

Instagram: @tfchronicles

Leave a Reply

